Welcome to your #1 Fake Diploma, Transcript and Certificate Source. 17 years in business, Fast Quality Products, Honest Live Support. 

Article - Colleges in Texas that have closed, merged, or changed their names

College Name    City    State    Start Date    End Date    Affiliation    Other Information    Source
Abilene Baptist College    Abilene    Texas    1891         Baptist    renamed Simmons College in 1891; Simmons University in 1925; and Hardin-Simmons University in 1934    Hunt and Carper, eds.  Religious Higher Education in the United States.  1996.
Brenner, Morgan G.  The Encyclopedia of College & University Name Histories.  2003.
Abilene Christian University of Dallas    Dallas    Texas    1971              founded as extension campus of Abilene Christian; moved to Garland, TX in 1974; name change to Amber University following separation from Abilene Christian; name changed again to Amberton University in 2001    www.amberton.edu
Add-Ran Jarvis College    Thorp Spring    Texas    1896    1909    Church of Christ    property sold to trustees of Thorp Spring Christian College    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/TT/kbt26.html
Cummins, D. Duane.  The Disciples Colleges: A History.  1987.
Add-Ran Male and Female College    Thorp Spring    Texas    1873    1896    Disciples of Christ    founded by Addison and Randolph Clark; came under control of Disciples of Christ in 1889; moved to Waco in 1895 and name changed to Texas Christian University in 1902; fire led to move to Fort Worth in 1910    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/TT/kbt26.html
Cummins, D. Duane.  The Disciples Colleges: A History.  1987.
Alexander College    Jacksonville    Texas    1854         Methodist Episcopal Church, South    founded in 1854 as New Danville Masonic Female Academy near Kilgore; in 1873 moved into Kilgore as Alexander Institute; in 1875 became part of East Texas Conference of Methodist Episcopal Church, South; moved to Jacksonville in 1894 to property of the Sunset Academy and operated under name of Alexander Collegiate Institute; began offer junior college curriculum in 1909; name changed to Lon Morris College in 1924    http://www.crl.edu/content.asp?l1=5&l2=22&l3=39&top=10
www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/LL/kbl15.html
Alta Vista College    Burleson    Texas    1885    1899         founded in 1879 as Red Oak Academy; re-established as Alta Vista College in 1885; transferred to Presbyterian Church in 1893 and renamed Red Oak Academy    http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Alta Vista College    Prairie View    Texas    1876              name change to Prairie View State Normal & Industrial College in 1889; to Prairie View University in 1945; to Prairie View Agricultural & Mechanical College in 1947; to Prairie View A&M University in 1973    Brenner, Morgan G.  The Encyclopedia of College & University Name Histories.  2003.
Ambassador University    Big Sandy    Texas    1947    1997              
Andrew Female College    Huntsville    Texas    1852    1879    Methodist    erected on site of present Huntsville High School; Named for Bishop James Osgood Andrew; after closure building moved to house school for black children    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/AA/kball.html
http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Annunciation College         Texas              Congregation of the Incarnate Word and Blessed Sacrament    founded for the education of Sisters, probably never enrolled lay students    Schier and Russett.  Catholic Women's Colleges in America.  2002.
Arlington College    Arlington    Texas    1895         private    founded by William M. Trimble and Lee M. Hammond, co-principals of Arlington Public Schools; the two men served as co-principals of the college until 1897; became Carlisle Military Institute in 1901, Arlington Training School in 1913, Grubbs Vocational College in 1917, North Texas Junior Agricultural, Mechanical and Industrial College in 1923, Arlington State College in 1949, and University of Texas at Arlington in 1967    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/TT/ftr31.html
Songe, Alice H.  American Universities and Colleges: A Dictionary of Name Changes.  1978.
Bacon College         Texas    1862                   www.cumberland.org/hfcpc/schools/Evans.htm
Bastrop Military Institute    Bastrop    Texas    1858    1879    private    institution closed during the Civil War and reopened in 1867; moved to Austin in 1870 and renamed Texas Military Institute; college operated until 1879 when the president and faculty joined Texas A&M    www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/TT/kbt17.html
Bay View College    Portland    Texas    1893    1916    Christian Church    founded by Alice and Thomas M. Clark, members of the family that established Texas Christian University (then called Add-Ran College) in Thorp Springs. The Clarks took over a vacant twenty-room hotel in Portland, built during a land boom that fizzled. During the first two years of operation students from the public school system in Portland attended the college, a move approved by the local school board to help the college get started. The state granted a charter in 1897 authorizing the school to grant degrees. As the institution grew, additional buildings were built–dormitories for boys and girls, a chapel, a gymnasium, and a number of utility buildings. In 1903 tuition and board were listed at fifteen dollars a month. At its peak the college had 164 boarding students enrolled from twenty-two Texas counties. Over 2,000 students went through the school in its twenty-three years of operation. The chapel was used by the community for church services and as a meeting place for community events. Enrollment declined as public schools in Texas began to fill educational needs. The school was closed after the storm of 1916 seriously damaged the college buildings    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/CC/idc5.html
Bee County Junior College    Beeville    Texas    1966         public    name changed to Coastal Bend College after September 1998    http://vct.coastalbend.edu
Belle Plain College    Baird    Texas    1881    1892    Methodist    Established by the Northwest Conference of the Methodist Church. John Day gave the new school ten acres of land in Belle Plain. During its first year (1881-82) the college operated in conjunction with the public school. F. W. Chatfield served as its first president. After a state charter was granted to the institution in the spring of 1882, Rev. J. T. L. Annis took over as president for two years. During his administration enrollment reached 122. Other presidents at Belle Plain College were John W. McIllhenny (1884-85), C. M. Virdel (1885-87), and I. M. Onins (1887-92).

Enrollment reached peak of 300 and students attended from throughout the region. College developed a superior course of study, with special strength in music. It had an orchestra and a brass band.

A girl's dormitory was built soon after founding, and in 1885 a 3-story stone building was erected. School also had a military branch in town. Pupils wore blue and gray uniforms. After town lost both county seat and many citizens to Baird.  By 1887 the trustees were unable to make mortgage payments. Judge I. M. Onins took over the school with its debts in 1887, after a successful school year, but the mortgage company foreclosed on the property in 1889. The company allowed the school to continue to operate until the president's death in 1892.     http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/BB/kbb26.html
Bishop College    Marshall    Texas    1881    1988    American Baptist Home Mission Society    S.W. Culver served as president from 1881 to 1891; in 1925 began a two-year program for ministers; in 1929, elected Joespeh J. Rhoads as first black president; also in 1929 discontinued high school department and attained status as senior college from state; accredited by Souther Association of Colleges in 1948; moved Dallas in 1961; blacklisted by AAUP in 1970; initiated M.Ed. program in 1947; accreditation revoked by Southern Association of Colelges and Schools in 1986; facilities occupied by Paul Quinn College, originally from Waco    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/BB/kbb11.html
Egar, Emmanuel Edame.  Development and Termination of Bishop College Between 1960 and 1988.  Ph.D. dissertation. 1990.
Lane, J.J. History of Education in Texas. 1903.
Bishop Ward Normal and Collegiate Institute    Huntsville    Texas    1883    1890    Methodist     the fifth college established for blacks in Texas    http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/HH/heh3.html
Blanco Masonic University    Blanco    Texas                   not clear a program was offered, two teachers were employed for a time; in 1875 plans were drawn up for a building and the Texas legislature was petitioned; in 1883, resources were transferred to Blanco Masonic High School that continued to function until 1893;    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/BB/kbb12.html
Blum Male and Female College    Newton    Texas    1880    1905         Chartered February 26, 1880, by 36 incorporators; named for Leon Blum, Galveston merchant, largest holder in $20,000 capital stock -- $5 per share. First directors were: R. J. Brailsford, H. J. Casey, W. W. Downs, W. A. Droddy, T. W. Ford, M. D. Hines; First president was Joseph Syler. Pupils ranged in age from 5 to 50 years; those under 12 met in downstairs of 2-story building; older pupils and adults met upstairs. Average enrollment per term was 100 resident and boarding pupils. Soon was called Burkeville School, and after expiration of College Charter on February 20, 1905, the building served that purpose until torn down in 1912.    http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Bosque College and Seminary    Bosque    Texas    1858    1865    
    It succeeded Bosque Academy and also Waco Female Seminary which held its last term in 1856-57. The same faculty and virtually the same board of trustees that had managed the Waco seminary were involved in establishing the school which received its charter on February 16, 1858. John C. Collier, a Cumberland Presbyterian minister who had headed Bosque Academy in 1854 and taught at the Waco Female Seminary during its last year, became president of the college. Among the trustees who served both institutions were Herman Aiken, Noah T. Byars, George Bernard Erath, and Amos Morrill. The prospectus for the female division announced an annual session extending from September 1 to July 1, with the only break being a one-week holiday at Christmas. The school would encompass primary and preparatory departments, in addition to the "regular course" (freshman through senior levels). Classes would include Latin, Greek, French, Spanish, German, and Italian; music (melodeon and piano); drawing and painting; and lessons in wax, fruit, flowers, and embroidery. Other studies included algebra, trigonometry, chemistry, astronomy, rhetoric, logic, political economy, and mental and moral philosophy. By 1858 Hebrew and the guitar, violin, and flute had been added to the curriculum. Although the school was nonsectarian, tuition was to be free for daughters of full-time clergymen, or clergy of limited means.

The school was the first coeducational college in McLennan County, though the male and female departments were originally located a mile apart. In 1860 Collier sold the Bosque Male College to the trustees but continued to teach and serve as president. The school prospered and had as many as 400 students in 1861, but the Civil War thinned its ranks: that year a company of 100 male students left to enlist, and in 1863 Collier resigned to become a scout in Ross's Brigade. In late 1863 or in 1864 Solomon G. O'Bryan took over as president of Bosque Male and Female College, a position he held for two years. (O'Bryan had taught in either the Bosque academy or the college while he was pastor of the First Baptist Church, Waco, in the 1850s.) The school, also was known as Bosqueville Male and Female College.    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/BB/kbbjk.html
Buffalo Gap College    Buffalo Gap    Texas    1885    1906    Presbyterian    Founded 1885 by Presbyterian Church, institution previously operated as a high school. In peak year, over 300 pupils, many from distant places, attended. First president was W. H. White. College had greatest success under J. M. Wagstaff. Presidents later were J. W. Melton, R. W. Benge, E. W. Doran, J. N. Ellis, John Collier, J. B. Clay and (again) W. H. White. The two-story, red sandstone building had four classrooms on the first floor, an auditorium on the second, and a belfry. The curriculum included courses in Latin, Greek, Christian evidence, physics, calculus, and music.    www.cumberland.org/hfcpc/schools/Evans.htm
http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/BB/kbb19.html
http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Burleson College    Greenville    Texas    1895    1930    Baptist    successor to Greenville College; college initiated by Hunt County Baptist Association on October 1, 1894; The following February Burleson College, named after Rufus C. Burleson, was incorporated by the state of Texas as an educational institution with $50,000 in capital stock. The trustees met and elected S. J. Anderson, pastor of First Baptist church in Greenville, president of the college on May 27, 1895. Some of the land that was given to the college was sold to build and furnish it. The institution took the faculty and pupils of Greenville College, which had closed in April, and the eight seniors of that school became the first graduating class of Burleson College in May. Ownership of Burleson College property passed to the Hunt County Baptist Association in September. Since the administration building was not completed by school time, Burleson College was officially opened in September in the Central Public School building.

The five-acre college campus was located one mile from Greenville, and the three-story, brick administration building was completed in October 1895. A group of interested men organized the Dormitory Stock Company in 1895 and built a three-story, wooden dormitory building by early 1896. Anderson resigned the presidency on September 28, 1898, and sold the dormitory, which he had owned, in November 1899. This transaction left Burleson College without a dormitory until late 1900, when the college purchased the dorm from J. S. Hill. The Hunt Association decided to place the college under the Education Commission of the Baptist General Convention in December 1899.

In June 1907 the trustees and the Baptist Educational Commission decided to make Burleson College a junior college. The three-story, brick girls' dormitory was completed in June 1916, and a similar boys' dormitory was completed by the fall semester of 1917. On April 8, 1925, the girls' dormitory was destroyed by fire, and a similar three-story building was completed by the fall semester of 1926. In 1929 Burleson College had 325 students and nineteen teachers. The college closed on December 5, 1930, due to debt and competition with tax-supported schools.    www.rootsweb.com/~txhunt/h_e_burleson.txt
http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/BB/kbb20.html
Burnetta College    Venus    Texas    1896    1909    Disciples of Christ    named for Burnetta Barnes; four-story frame building was built with contributions of $500 by the citizens of Venus and a $5,000 gift from A. D. Leach, who became the school's first president; opened with 250 students on September 7, 1896; at its largest there were 350 day students, some boarders, and from eight to ten teachers; main building burned and was rebuilt, but the college was later abandoned, and the building became the property of the Venus public schools    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook
Cummins, D. Duane.  The Disciples Colleges: A History.  1987.
Butler College    Tyler    Texas    1905    1972    Baptist    coeducational school for blacks    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/BB/kbb23.html
Calhoun College    Kingston    Texas    1887    1893         private, nondenominational, coeducational; began in what had been Kingston High School, a two-story wooden building owned and operated by J. L. Clemmons and J. C. Todd; in 1885 apparently began offering college-level instruction in addition to primary and secondary courses; two years later the school was renamed and chartered as Calhoun College; first president, T. S. Sligh, was succeeded in 1889 by T. S. Wallis until the school closed; no entrance requirements, offered work leading to the bachelor of arts degree with courses in six departments: primary, preparatory, teachers', music, elocution, and scientific; though the building could accommodate up to 400 students, the enrollment never seems to have reached that level; tuition ranged from one dollar to four dollars a month, depending on the level of instruction; changed ownership a number of times during its existence...at one time a Professor Booth, who "loved whiskey and drugs," operated Calhoun College and severely lowered its reputation; discontinued college-level instruction after 1893 and continued as a private primary and secondary school until sometime around 1900.    http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/CC/kbc1.html
Carlton College    Bonham    Texas    1865    1916    Church of Christ (Disciples)    Formally chartered in 1881, Carlton College began under the direction of Charles Carlton (1821-1902) as the Bonham Female Institute. Carlton, a native of England and a Disciples of Christ minister, had come to Bonham in 1867 to take charge of the institute, which soon became a coeducational school known as Bonham Seminary. Carlton, several of his children, and his second wife, Sallie, taught many of the classes at his Bonham schools. In 1882, the first of several Carlton College buildings was constructed in this block of East Tenth St. Carlton College admitted all young men and women who demonstrated a sincere desire for education. As the Carltons grew older, they decided to limit enrollment, and the college became an all-female school in 1887. By the time of Carlton's death in 1902, approximately 3600 pupils had attended his schools in Bonham. Carlton College declined with the death of its founder and in 1914 was merged with a school in Sherman to form Carr-Burdette College. When that institution closed in 1916, the graduates of Carlton were adopted into the alumni fellowship of Texas Christian University in
Fort Worth.    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/CC/idc5.html
http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Cummins, D. Duane.  The Disciples Colleges: A History. 1987.
Carr-Burdette College    Sherman    Texas    1893    1914    Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)    private junior college; Cummins gives closing date of 1929    http://www.nctc.cc.tx.us/General_Information/Intropage.html
Cummins, D. Duane.  The Disciples Colleges: A History.  1987.
Lane, J.J. History of Education in Texas. 1903.
Centenary College    Lampasas    Texas    1883    1895    Methodist Episcopal Church, South    Centenary College Preparatory School, Lampasas' first coeducational college, was founded 1883 by the local Methodist Episcopal Church, on the centennial of the organization of Methodism in the United States. First president was The Rev. Marshall McIlhaney, at a salary of $125 per month. Two 3-story buildings comprised the plant. First-year enrollment was 174 and tuition was $25 per 5-month semester; Christmas break lasted 1-1/2 days. In 1894 the property was sold and classes moved to the vacant Park Hotel; when the hotel burned a year later, the college closed. St. Dominic's Villa, a Catholic boarding academy for girls of all faiths, opened in 1900 in the former Centenary College buildings. Under the able, spirited direction of the Dominican Sisters, it made progress for two decades. Its former students recalled their villa days as ones of "girlhood happiness". Sister Mary Catherine, director, and her dedicated staff developed an atmosphere of home-like contentment and high scholastic standards. The college had two 5-month semesters; to gain school days, Easter vacation was not observed. Peak enrollment of
70 was reached in the second year. Anti-Catholic activity of the "Ku Klux
Klan" helped influence the villa to close, 1925.    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/CC/kbc53.html
http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Central College    Sulphur Springs    Texas    1877    1894    Methodist Episcopal Church, South    began as Sulphur Springs District Conference High School. In 1882, President Rev. J. W. Adkisson drafted a charter to reorganize the school as Central College. Control of the college was transferred to the Methodist Episcopal Church, South. The college departments included arts and sciences, primary, preparatory, commercial, and music. The school had two literary societies, Kappa Tau and Belles Lettres. Enrollment ranged from 150 to 200. In 1894 a Central College professor, H. P. Eastman, purchased the college and continued operation under a new charter. At that time the name was changed to Eastman College and Conservatory of Music and Art. The institution operated under Eastman's leadership until it was destroyed by fire in 1900.     http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/CC/kbc9.html
Lane, J.J. History of Education in Texas. 1903.
Central Nazarene University    Hamlin    Texas    1910    1929    Pentecostal Church of the Nazarene    initially offered bachelors degrees; after 1918 only offered junior college curricula;  merged with Bethany-Peniel College    http://snu.edu/?p={42F09E01-0937-423D-B1A9-18183A4B3A4A}
Central Plains College & Conservatory of Music    Plainview    Texas    1907    1910              www.snu.edu
Central Texas College    Blooming Grove    Texas    1899    1912    Methodist    In 1899, the Corsicana District of the Northwest Texas Methodist Conference established a college preparatory school. The following year, the University Training School opened at this site under the direction of the Rev. J. W. Adkisson, a respected Christian educator. In 1909, a junior college curriculum was added and the institution was renamed Central Texas College. The 15-acre campus included an ornate three-story Victorian main building.    http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Chapel Hill College    Daingerfield    Texas    1852    1869    Cumberland Presbyterian    Chartered 1850. Opened 1852 in brick building on land donated by Allen Urquhart, Republic of Texas surveyor. Founded by Marshall Presbytery of Cumberland Presbyterian Church, to educate ministers. Also offered courses in medicine, law and liberal arts. Closed in 1869 for lack of students and funds.    http://www.cumberland.org/hfcpc/schools/ChapHill.htm;
http://www.cumberland.org/hfcpc/mcdonold/42-49.htm
Blandin.  History of Higher Education of Women in the South.  1909.
http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Chapel Hill Male and Female College    Brenham    Texas    1849?    1856    non-denominational    in 1854, state changed charter to allow trustees to transfer control; name changed to Soule University under influence of Texas Conference of Methodist Church    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/;
www.southwestern.edu/about/history.html
Chappell Hill Female College    Chappell Hill    Texas    1850    1912    Methodist    Chappell Hill Male and Female Institute pioneered in higher learning in Texas. Under Methodist Church after 1854. Women's branch was chartered separately, 1856. Rebuilt after a fire in 1871; closed in 1912.    http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Lane, J.J. History of Education in Texas. 1903.
Cherokee Junior College    Cherokee    Texas    1911    1918    Methodist Episcopal South    housed in building that was previously used by West Texas Normal and Business College; after 1918, the building was purchased and used as a public school until it burned in 1945    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/CC/kbcts.html
Christian College & Business Institute    Lingleville    Texas    1903    1909    Church of Christ         Cummins, D. Duane.  The Disciples Colleges: A History.  1987.
Christian College of the Southwest    Mesquite    Texas    1962    1971    Church of Christ    founded as Garland Christian College; closed due to financial difficulties and campus was acquired by Abilene Christian College    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/CC/kbc19.html
Songe, Alice H.  American Universities and Colleges:  A Dictionary of Name Changes.  1978.
Christopher College of Corpus Christi    Corpus Christi    Texas    1958    1968    Sisters of Incarnate Word    junior college; successor to Mary Immaculate College; name changed in 1965    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/CC/iwc1.html
www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/CC/kbc20.html
Clebarro College    Cleburne    Texas    1909    1917    Church of Christ         Young, M. Norvel.  A History of Colleges Established and Controlled by Members of the Churches of Christ. 1949.
www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/CC/idc2.html
Cummins, D. Duane.  The Disciples Colleges: A History.  1987.
Cleveland College    Parker County    Texas    1885              later called The Training School.  Granbury College later moved into the building and became Weatherford College    www.rootsweb.com/~txparker/edu/
Clifton College    Clifton    Texas    1896    1954    Norwegian Lutheran    located on land donated by N.J. Nelson and T.T. Hogvold.  Opened as a high school.  Under the direction of Dr. Carl Tyssen, president, college courses first offered in 1922; accredited as junior college in 1924; high school discontinued in 1938; Solberg states it was absorbed by Texas Lutheran College    Solberg.  Lutheran Higher Education in North America.  1985.
http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Cofer Bible College    Krum    Texas    1909                   Cummins, D. Duane.  The Disciples Colleges: A History.  1987.
Cold Springs Collegiate Institute    Cold Springs    Texas    1852                   Blandin.  The History of Higher Education of Women in the South.  1909.
Colegio Jacinto Trevino    Mercedes    Texas    1970              The Mexican American Youth Organizationqv voted unanimously at a statewide meeting during the Christmas holidays of 1969-70 to found Colegio Jacinto Treviño. The mission of the college was to "to develop a Chicano with conscience and skills, [to give] the barrios a global view, [and] to provide positive answers to racism, exploitation, and oppression." A core planning group of fifteen set the initial goal-a bilingual, bicultural program to train teachers of Hispanic children. Antioch College, in Yellow Springs, Ohio, agreed to lend its name to the development of a degree in education through its University Without Walls graduate program. In partial fulfillment of master's degrees in education from Antioch, fifteen students agreed to develop an undergraduate training program for teachers. The group was instructed by an adjunct volunteer faculty of university professors and others and supervised by a full-time Ed.D. Colegio Jacinto Treviño received small grants from the federal government, churches, and foundations. Income and expenses were shared among the graduate students. Enrollment ranged from fifteen to fifty students of high school and undergraduate age.

Difficulties arose in the structure and governance of the college, criteria for selection of students and requirements for degrees. It was unclear how the school was to provide the broadest possible educational opportunities, compensate for past neglect, and also secure recognition of the school's degree. In addition to developing a teaching curriculum, the group proposed to provide a center of cultural dialogue encompassing a college press, a clearinghouse of information, and a distribution service for books in Spanish unavailable elsewhere in the country. To this end, members visited student groups and publishing houses in Mexico City. The first venture was to be a deluxe volume of art and poetry, "Semillas de liberación" ("Seeds of Liberation"). The college was managed by consensus, policy being set by a board of directors that met quarterly. The board's internal dynamics were political, intense, and eventually polarized in two identifiable camps. By the summer of 1971 irreducible tension resulted in the pulling away of one camp (some of whose members established another Hispanic center, Juarez-Lincoln University). Internal pressures were compounded by organized external efforts to close the college. Colegio Jacinto Treviño was closed in the mid-1970s.     http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/CC/kbc51.html
College of Marshall    Marshall    Texas    1912         Baptist    name changed to East Texas Baptist College in 1944 and to East Texas Baptist University in 1984    www.cets.sfasu.edu/Harrison/history.htm
Hunt and Carper, eds.  Religious Higher Education in the United States.  1996.
Brenner, Morgan G.  The Encyclopedia of College & University Name Histories.  2003.
College of Our Savior         Texas              Franciscans of Mary Immaculate    founded for the education of Sisters, probably never enrolled lay students    Schier and Russett.  Catholic Women's Colleges in America.  2002.
Colorado College    Columbus    Texas    1857         Lutheran Synod of West Virginia    established by John J. Scherer, who later became president of Marion College in Virginia; Hermann Emil Mathias Jordt and Daniel Draub, both of whom had been associated with Hermann University for some years, were among the original 25 trustees of Colorado College. John J. Scherer replaced his half-brother, Gideon, as pastor of the local Lutheran church in early 1858.    Solberg.  Lutheran Higher Education in North America.  1985.
http://www.columbustexas.net/library/history/footnote/part5-38.htm
Columbia College    Van Alstyne    Texas    1889    1906         An association composed of merchants and landowners from the Van Alstyne area saw the need for quality education and established Columbia College. The school served all grades through college level, emphasizing vocational training as well as the arts and sciences. The institution was housed in a three-story frame structure on this four-acre fenced site. There were 40 students in the first class and the enrollment increased to 578 by the 1893-1894 school year. Students from a large section of North Texas studied at this coeducational facility. Howell Lake Piner (1858-1935) served from 1890-1895 as the school's first president. He was born in Kentucky, reared in Honey Grove, Texas, and received his education at Vanderbilt University. After selling his interest in Grayson College, Whitewright, Texas, Piner came to Columbia and skillfully directed the development of the institution. As the area grew, Van Alstyne residents recognized the need for a community high school. Columbia College became part of the Van Alstyne Public School System in 1906. The college building continued to serve the schools until 1915 when it was destroyed by fire.    http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Concrete College    Cuero    Texas    1865    1881         One of most respected schools in Texas in its day. Founded by the Rev. John Van Epps Covey (1821-1898), noted educator and minister. Embraced primary through collegiate levels, accepting only students over 12 years old for college work. Broad course offerings included classical and modern languages, penmanship, music (piano, guitar, violin, flute), plus homemaking and etiquette for girls. A well-attended business school taught bookkeeping, banking, commercial law, and letter-writing. Enrollment, including boarding and day students, averaged 100; peaked at 250 in 1873. On weekdays pupils rose at 5 a.m., took a brisk walk before breakfast, heard devotional services, and went to classes. Nights were reserved for study and discussion, with "lights out" at 9 p.m. Gambling, liquor, smoking, and profanity were strictly forbidden. Students wrote their lessons on slates, as paper was expensive, then recited them to the instructor. June graduation was the ceremonious occasion of public speeches and oral examinations. In 1881 the college closed after epidemics broke out and the railroad bypassed town of Concrete. Years later rock walls of main building were crushed and used to surface roads. Only rubble marks site today.    http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Crowell College    Crowell    Texas                        http://www.crl.edu/content.asp?l1=5&l2=22&l3=39&top=10
Cumberland College    Leonard    Texas    1911    1918    Cumberland Presbyterian    coeducational institution. J. W. Pearson was first temporary president; campus included a three-story, twelve-room brick classroom building and a two-story, thirteen-room dormitory for women; opened with thirty-four students; DeCosta Howard Dodson, president and professor of mathematics in first year; enrollment for the 1912-13 school year was twenty-two; in 1914-15 W. J. Jackey became the president, and the following year W. A. Boone, took over. In 1914 the Cumberland Presbyterian General Assembly provided ministerial aid funds for Cumberland College with financial problems plagueing the institution from the beginning; in 1911 the Texas Synod formulated plans to obtain funding through donations, and the trustees of the synod were granted a loan of $6,000. The loan and outside donations enabled the synod to purchase the college; on December 28, 1917, at a meeting of the Texas Synod, the board of trustees of Cumberland College recommended that the school be closed on January 8, 1918, and the property be sold. The campus was sold to the city of Leonard, and the classroom building became Leonard High School. This building and the women's dormitory were subsequently demolished. The site is now the location of the Leonard public schools.     www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/CC/kbc48.html
Cy-Fair College    Cyprus    Texas    2003         public    name change to Lone Star College-CyFair in 2008; one of five colleges that comprised the North Harris Montgomery Community College District and now operate as the Lone Star College System    http://cyfair.lonestar.edu/29618/
Dallas College    Dallas    Texas    1878    1881    Baptist    possibly a successor to Dallas Male and Female College    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/DD/kbd3.html
Dallas Female College    Dallas    Texas              Methodist Episcopal South         Don W. Holter.  Fire on the Prairie:  Methodism in the History of Kansas.  1969.
Daniel Baker College    Brownwood    Texas    1888    1953    Presbyterian    founded by B.T. McClelland; became Episcopal College of the Southwest in 1950; merged with Howard Payne University in Brownwood in 1953    www.hputx.edu/hpuhome/index.html
Hunt and Carper, eds.  Religious Higher Education in the United States.  1996.
Lane, J.J. History of Education in Texas. 1903.
Decatur Baptist College    Decatur    Texas    1891         Baptist    Closely linked to Northwest Baptist College, which operated from 1891 to 1897, Decatur Baptist College opened its doors in 1898. The college was the result of an effort by Texas Baptist leaders to consolidate all Texas Baptist Schools under the direction of Baylor University and the Baptist General Convention of Texas. The college, which initially served primary and secondary school students in addition to the junior college program, had an enrollment of 105 in the fall of 1898. J. L. Ward, president of the college from 1900 to 1907 and 1914 to 1950, was most influential in the development and expansion of the college. By 1959 the school offered courses in religion, fine arts, business, languages, and vocational training. Increasing financial challenges and decreasing enrollment led the college to accept an invitation to move to Dallas. The school's name was changed to Dallas Baptist College in February 1965; its first classes were held that fall, with an enrollment of 941. The college became a four-year institution in 1968. Renamed Dallas Baptist University in 1985.    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/DD/kdb1.html
http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Dominican College    Houston    Texas    1945    1975    Dominican Sisters         www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/CC/iwc1.html
Schier and Russett.  Catholic Women's Colleges in America.  2002.
East Texas Normal College    Cooper     Texas    1889              moved to Commerce, TX in 1894; name change to East Texas State Normal College in 1917; to East Texas State Teachers College in 1923; to East Texas State College in 1957; to East Texas State University in 1965; to Texas A&M-Commerce in 1996    Brenner, Morgan G.  The Encyclopedia of College & University Name Histories.  2003.
Eastern Texas Female College    Tyler    Texas    1857    1865    Baptist    Fannin and Charnwood streets; originally the female department of Tyler University, which was founded in 1853 by the Cherokee Baptist Association, and was under the direction of G. C. Baggerly and his wife in 1855; two years later fire destroyed the main building, and only the women's classes were conducted that year. The female department was renamed Eastern Texas Female College and also known as Tyler Female Seminary; it was one of two Baptist female seminaries in Smith County. The college consisted of a sizable two-room frame building for regular classes and a separate large building in the schoolyard for music lessons and practice. J. T. Hand became president in 1860, when the enrollment reached eighty-seven. unsuccessful attempt was made in 1861 to transfer the school to the Eastern Baptist Convention. Heavy debts and poor enrollment caused the college to operate at a loss. A fire destroyed much of the facility in 1862, and Hand conducted classes in his home for over two years. In 1865 the regents leased the building and equipment to Hand, who continued to operate the school as Charnwood Institute.    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/EE/kbe4.html
Eastman College    Sulphur Springs    Texas    1894    1900         see entry for Central College    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/CC/kbc9.html
Edinburg College    Edinburgh    Texas    1927              established as Edinburg Junior College, Edinburg Regional College in 1948, Pan American College in 1951, state control I 1965 and then in 1989 became Univ of Texas-Pan American    www.panam.edu/about/brief-history.html
Songe, Alice H.  American Universities and Colleges: A Dictionary of Name Changes.  1978.
El Paso Christian College    El Paso    Texas                   records located at Dallas Christian College    http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/uhri/certauthhist.cfm
El Paso Junior College    El Paso    Texas    1920              first municipal junior college in Texas; absorbed by College of Mines and Metallurgy, a branch of University of Texas in 1927; later became University of Texas-El Paso    http://www.nctc.cc.tx.us/General_Information/Intropage.html
Emerson College    Campbell    Texas    1903    1906         named for Ralph Waldo Emerson; opened in facilities of Henry College    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/HH/kbh4.html
www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/CC/hlc4.html
http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Evangelical Lutheran College    Brenham    Texas    1891    1912    Texas Synod, Lutheran    affiliated with Iowa Synod in 1896; in 1912 moved to Seguin, TX as Lutheran College of Seguin, predecessor to Texas Lutheran University    Solberg.  Lutheran Higher Education in North America.  1985.
http://www.texas-settlement.org/markers/guadalupe/61.html
Evangelical Lutheran College    Rutersville    Texas    1870    1878    Evangelical Lutheran Synod    The Online Handbook states buildings were bought for $600 in 1870 and Rev. H. Mertz became supervisor and instructor. The institution met with small success and in 1878 was forced to close. Another Evangelical Lutheran College was a predecessor of Texas Lutheran College.  The Atlas states Synod bought an existing campus at Rutersville in 1872 and operated her German-American College there until 1881 with Pastor H. Merz as president. In 1891 the Synod acquired a school plant on this site and established her Evangelical Lutheran College here. The courses were preparatory, commercial, teacher training, and classical. A dormitory for boys stood at Pecan and Clinton. Successive administrators were Pastors G. Langner, O. Hartmann, J. H. Romberg, E. Gerfen, F. Zimmermann. Synod closed the college in 1906, then founded an Evangelical Lutheran Pro-seminar on this campus to specialize in training students for entrance to a theological seminary. Launched Sept. 18, 1906, it prospered for six years under leadership of Pastor C. Weeber.    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/EE/kbe9.html
http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Evangelical Theological Seminary    Dallas    Texas    1924              name changed to Dallas Theological Seminary in 1936    www.tsha.utex.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/DD/kbd5.html
Ewing Collge    La Grange    Texas    1848    1850's    Cumberland Presbyterian         The Handbook of Texas Online;
http://www.cumberland.org/hfcpc/mcdonold/42-49.htm
Fairemont Female Seminary    Weatherford    Texas                        The Handbook of Texas Online
Fairfield Female College    Fairfield    Texas                   Opened in 1859 with Dr. Henry Lee Graves as president. Chartered February 8, 1860.    http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Fort Worth Christian College    Fort Worth    Texas    1956    1971    Church of Christ    campus acquired by Abilene Christian College    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/FF/kbf5.html
Songe, Alice H.  American Colleges and Universities: A Dictionary of Name Changes.  1978.
Fort Worth University    Fort Worth    Texas    1881    1911    Methodist Episcopal Church    founded as Texas Wesleyan College; renamed FWU in 1889; school of law started in 1893 and school of medicine in 1894; presidents included A.A. Johnson, P.M. White, Oscar L. Fisher after 1891; merged with Methodist Episcopal University at Oklahoma City    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/FF/kbf6.html
Lane, J.J. History of Education in Texas. 1903.
Fredericksburg College    Fredericksburg    Texas    1876    1884    German Methodist Church         www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/FF/kbf9.html
Gail Business College    Abilene    Texas                        www.ladytexian.com/txtaylor/memory/postcards2.htm
Gainesville Junior College    Gainesville    Texas    1924              founded as municipal junior college; became North Central Texas College    http://www.nctc.cc.tx.us/General_Information/Intropage.html
Galveston Medical College    Galveston    Texas    1865    1873         first medical school in Texas; associated with Soule University; when closed, G.S. Dowell and others founded Texas Medical College    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/daybyday/07-17-004.html
Galveston University    Galveston    Texas    1840    1844              http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/GG/kbg5.html
Garland Christian College    Mesquite    Texas    1962         Churches of Christ    name changed to Christian College of the Southwest in 1963    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/CC/kbc19.html
Girls' Industrial College    Denton    Texas    1901         state supported    became College of Industrial Arts in 1905, Texas State College for Women in 1935    Songe, Alice H.  American Universities and Colleges: A Dictionary of Name Changes.  1978.
Gladstone College    Celeste    Texas                   successor to Perrin School founded in 1890; operated briefly as Gladstone College and later as Hawthorne College; by 1899 was a college prep called Elmwood Institute     www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/EE/kbe7.html
Goodnight College    Goodnight    Texas    1898    1917    Baptist    Founded by first permanent Texas Panhandle ranchers, Col. and Mrs. Charles Goodnight. With 20 students, classes began in the Methodist church while donors' funds were being used to erect 3-story administration building, two dormitories, and dining hall. Enrolment grew to 200; school had good athletic program. College in 1905 became a Baptist-supported academy; a junior college, 1913. Presidents were: Dr. Marshall McIlhaney, C. H. Webb, the Rev. J. P. Reynolds, Dr. D. T. Sutherland, the Rev. A. H. Thornton, E. B. Moore, and R. B. Morgan. In World War I era the useful pioneer school closed.    http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Granbury College    Parker County    Texas    1873         Methodist Episcopal Church, South    W.P. Wilson first principal, followed by E.P. Williams    www.rootsweb.com/~txparker/edu/
Lane, J.J. History of Education in Texas. 1903.
Grayson College    Whitewright    Texas    1887    1912              www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/GG/kbg16.html
Greenville College    Greenville    Texas         1895              www.rootsweb.com/~txhunt/h_e_burleson.txt
Grubbs Vocational College    Arlington    Texas    1917         state supported    founded on property of what had been Arlington College and a series of other private institutions; a junior college with a high school department that operated as a branch of Texas A&M; renamed North Texas Junior Agricultural College in 1923 and later North Texas Agricultural College; in 1949 name changed to Arlington State College and then after transfer to the University of Texas System in 1965, it was renamed the University of Texas at Arlington in 1967     www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/UU/kcu8.html
Songe, Alice H.  American Universities and Colleges: A Dictionary of Name Changes.  1978.
http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Guadalupe College    Gonzales    Texas    1841                   www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/GG/kbg17.html
Guadalupe College    Guadalupe City    Texas    1848    1849              www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/GG/kbg18.html
Guadalupe College    Seguin    Texas    1887    1936    Guadalupe Baptist Association    co-educational boarding school with preparatory, collegiate, normal, theological and industrial departments; J.H. Garnett was first president    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/GG/kbg19.html
Lane, J.J. History of Education in Texas. 1903.
Gulf Coast Bible College    Houston    Texas                   moved to Oklahoma City in 1985 and changed name to Mid-America Bible College    http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/uhri/certauthhist.cfm
Gulf Coast University of Industrial Arts    College Port    Texas    1908              Jonathan Edward Pierce and Abel Brown Pierce hired land developer Burton D. Hurd to sell off 9,000 acres of their ranch lands in 1908. The agreement with Hurd called for the development of a town that would include a college and a port on Trespalacios Bay. Advertising the venture in newspapers of northern states, Hurd promoted the area's mild climate and promising farming opportunities. A number of families relocated to Collegeport to purchase land, establish farms, and build new homes.    http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Gunter Bible College    Gunter    Texas    1903    1928    Church of Christ (Disciples)    Junior college that opened with thre teachers and nine students and later reached twelve teachers and 190 students.  Nimrod L. Clark was the first president, serving nine years.  Alfred Ellmore served from 1912 t0 1922 and was succeeded by John R. Freeman.  The college moved to Littlefield in 1928 before closing in 1930.    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/GG/kbg22.html
Cummins, D. Duane.  The Disciples Colleges: A History.  1987.
Hawthorne College    Celeste    Texas                   successor to Perrin School founded in 1890; operated briefly as Gladstone College and later as Hawthorne College; by 1899 was a college prep called Elmwood Institute     www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/EE/kbe7.html
Henderson Female College    Henderson    Texas    1856                   Blandin.  The History of Higher Education of Women in the South.  1909.
Henry College    Campbell    Texas    1892    1901         founded by Henry Bridges and Henry Eastman; in 1903 under new ownership opened as Emerson College    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/HH/kbh4.html
http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Hereford Christian College    Hereford    Texas    1902    1903    Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)    Opened as co-educational public school in newly-built, 3-story main building. By 1903, college was transferred to Christian Church for needed financial support. Renamed Add-Ran College. The next year, name changed to Panhandle Christian College. Name reverted to Hereford Christian College during the last three years.  College was forced to close in 1912. Housed Hereford High School, 1915-26.    http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/HH/kch6.html
Cummins, D. Duane.  The Disciples Colleges: A History.  1987.
Hill College    Hillsboro    Texas    1923    1950    public    originally Hillsboro Junior College, operated as extension of Hillsboro High School    http://www.nctc.cc.tx.us/General_Information/Intropage.html
Hockaday Junior College    Dallas    Texas                        
Holy Trinity College    Dallas    Texas    1905    1929    Vincentian Fathers    chartered as University of Dallas after 1910; charter dormant after 1929    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/UU/kbu2.html
Brenner, Morgan G.  The Encyclopedia of College & University Name Histories.  2003.
Houston College for Negroes    Houston    Texas    1927    1947         later Texas State University for Negroes, now Texas Southern University since 1947    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/TT/ket27.html
Brenner, Morgan G.  The Encyclopedia of College & University Name Histories.  2003.
Houston International University    Houston    Texas    1970    1990         "a university without walls," was established Hispanic International University, to provide alternative postsecondary education for Mexican Americans. Leonel Castillo, Ben Reyes, and Hector García, were among the founders. Robert Navarro was the first president. Later, Castillo and May N. Paulissen also served as president. In its first several years HIU offered only a small number of seminars. In 1974 it gained admission to the Union for Experimental Colleges and Universities which gave it the authority to grant B.A. and B.S. degrees in social work and public administration. The union expressed concern that only 13 percent of HIU students were Mexican American and that the school had moved away from the Mexican-American section of the city. Enrollment in HIU progressed at a slow rate, and official reports noted that between 1970 and 1977 it awarded only a small number of degrees. Between 1978 and 1982 the graduation rate was reported at between ten and twenty-six per year. In 1983 the school changed its name to Houston International University and began to focus on older-than-average working adults. In 1985 HIU ended its affiliation with UECU, leaving it without legal authority to grant degrees in the state. In 1986 it enrolled 400 students, mostly in English-improvement classes. In April 1987 HIU was certified by the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board for a two-year period on the condition that it build its faculty, improve library services, and seek accreditation from the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools.    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/HH/kch18.html
Houston Junior College    Houston    Texas    1927              University of Houston after 1934    Songe, Alice H.  American Universities and Colleges: A Dictionary of Name Changes.  1978.
Jefferson College    Jefferson      Texas                        http://txgenes.com/TxMarion/HistoricalMarkersG-L.html
Juarez-Lincoln University    Austin    Texas    1971    1979         emerged from a 1969 state conference of the Mexican American Youth Organization. Shortly after the conference, Jacinto Treviño College was established in Mercedes. Leonard Mestas of Denver and André Guerrero served as codirectors. Political differences led to a division in 1971, and Guerrero and Mestas left to form their own school, Juárez-Lincoln.

During the first year the school operated in Fort Worth, but in 1972 it was moved to Austin. The offices were initially located at St. Edward's University. In 1975, when enrollment increased to nearly 200, the school moved to its own campus at 715 East First Street. Juárez-Lincoln became an affiliate of the Antioch Graduate School of Education in Ohio. Until 1975 the school was known as Juárez-Lincoln Center, but with the addition of a bachelor of arts program to its master of education program, it changed its name to Juárez-Lincoln University. The institution had three programs: the master of education program, as part of the Antioch Graduate School of Education; the bachelor of arts program, in conjunction with Antioch College; and the National Farmworker Information Clearinghouse, a national resource center collecting data on migrant farm workers and migrant programs.

Juárez-Lincoln's curricula emphasized the bilingual and bicultural environment and the school followed the "university-without-walls" model, in which students designed their own projects with the assistance of faculty advisors. Closed in 1979, when Antioch University withdrew its support. The building was demolished in 1983.    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/JJ/kcj3.html
Kidd-Key College    Sherman    Texas    1866    1935    Methodist Episcopal Church    J.C. Parks was first president and served 12 years.  He was succeeded by J.R. Cole in 1878, W.C. Parham in 1880, E.D. Pitts in 1881, and J.M. Onins in 1883.  Initally was non-denominational and became North Texas Female College in 1874.  The institution closed for one year in 1886.  Reopened with Mrs. Lucy Ann Kidd-Key as president and she served from from 1888-1916.  Renamed Kidd-Key College in 1919 in her memory.    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/
http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Lane, J.J. History of Education in Texas. 1903.
Kingwood College    Kingwood    Texas    1984         public    founded as East Campus of what had been known as the Union Junior College District; name change to Lone Star College-Kingwood in 2008; one of five colleges that comprised the North Harris Montgomery Community College District and now operate as the Lone Star College System    http://kingwood.lonestar.edu/19044/
Lagarto College    Lagarto    Texas    1884    1895              http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Lampasas College    Lampasas    Texas    1879    1885    Church of Christ (Disciples)         www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook
Cummins, D. Duane.  The Disciples Colleges: A History.  1987.
Larissa College    Larissa    Texas    1855    1866    Cumberland Presbyterian    A prominent school before the Civil War. Established in a log hut in 1848. Placed under the control of the Cumberland Presbyterian Church in 1855. Chartered February 2, 1856. With splendid equipment, Larissa offered the strongest science work of the day in Texas. Dr. F. L. Yoakum, President, 1855-1866.    The Handbook of Texas Online;
http://www.cumberland.org/hfcpc/schools/Texas.htm;
http://www.cumberland.org/hfcpc/mcdonold/42-49.htm
http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Liberty Bible College    Waco    Texas    
    
    http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/uhri/certauthhist.cfm
Liberty Normal & Business College    Liberty Hill    Texas    1885    1910         a nonsectarian institution; the legislature chartered the school and granted it the credentials formerly issued to the defunct Oak Grove College; E. M. Coleman was the first president and there were four teachers and 166 students by 1892. The curriculum around 1900 included humanities and science courses, as well as telegraphy, music, and commercial training. The buildings were turned over to the public school system after closure.     http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/LL/kbl11.html
Lingleville Christian College    Lingleville    Texas    1901    1909    Church of Christ    
    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook
Littlefield College    Littlefield    Texas    1916    1918    Church of Christ         Cummins, D. Duane.  The Disciples Colleges: A History.  1987.
Lockney Christian College    Lockney    Texas    1894    1918    Church of Christ    established by Chrles Walker Smith and St. Clair W. Smith, two evangelists.  A frame building was built and the school opened with 16 students.  George Henry Pryor Showalter became president in 1897.  In 1899 enrollment reached 425.  In 1902 Showalter resigned and helped St. Clair W. Smith establish another school in Bethel, NM.  In 1902 the Lockney was purchased by W.O. Hines, Arthur S. Kennamer and N.L. Clark and the name was changed to Lockney College and Bible School.  In 1904 Nimrod Lafayette Clark who had succeeded Showalter resigned to become president of Gunter Bible College.  Showalter returned and restored the name of Lockney Christian College.  He left in 1906 to become president of Sabinal Christian College.  The college expanded to a four year curriculum during the presidency of James A. Sisco.  James L. German, Jr. served as president from 1909-1911.  John Cheatham was president 1911-1912, T.W. Croom 1913 and William F. Ledlow was the last president from 1914-1918.    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook
www.rra.dst.tx.us/c_t/history/flyd/LOCKNEY%20CHRISTIAN%20COLLEGE.cfm
Cummins, D. Duane. The Disciples Colleges: A History.  1987.
Loretto College    El Paso    Texas    1923         Sisters of Loretto    founded as academy in 1879 in San Elizario, TX; moved to El Paso in 1892; incorporated as college in 1923; continues to operate as an academy    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/LL/kbl23.html
Mansfield Male and Female College    Mansfield    Texas    1870    1887         founded by John C. Collier, a college president and Presbyterian minister. The site was donated by cofounder Julian Feild. The state legislature incorporated the college on May 2, 1871, and empowered it to confer degrees in arts and sciences. Classes met in two small buildings when the first session opened in 1870. A two-story frame building from Fort Belknap, dismantled and rebuilt on the college site, was used for classes, church services, and lodging. The cornerstone for a second two-story building was laid on June 24, 1875. In 1877 Collier built a two-story brick and frame house on the west side of the school grounds for his family. Five small rooms on the second floor served as dormitory rooms for the female teachers and students. The house still stands and was designated a state historic landmark in 1984.

Offered instruction from the primary grades through the postsecondary level. Teachers included Smith Ragsdaleqv as professor of mathematics and Collier as professor of languages and literature. Promminent alums included John H. Stephens and Oscar W. Gillespie, who both served in the United States Congress.  After closure, the main building burned in 1889 and the property was ultimately deeded to the Mansfield Public Free School, now the Mansfield Independent School District.    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/MM/kbm39.html
Margaret Houston Female College    Daingerfield    Texas    1856         Baptist         www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/MM/kbm4.html
Blandin.  History of Higher Education of Women in the South.  1909.
Marshall University    Marshall    Texas    1842    1910         the school was a university in name only and was absorbed into the public school system    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/MM/kbm6.html
Marvin College    Waxahachie    Texas    1855    1884    Methodist Episcopal Church, South    The Northwest Texas Conference built a college named for Bishop E.M. Marvin at the site in 1870-71. Waxahachie Methodists and others gave land, services, and money to develop the college. Distinctions were attained in music and chemistry teaching. The astronomical observatory was an outstanding feature. The enrollment reached about 250. Financially troubled, the college stressed practical studies in the 1880s. The City of Waxahachie then bought the property and used it to house its original public school.    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/
http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Mary Allen College    Crockett    Texas    1887    1943    Presbyterian    In 1886 the Board of Missions for Freedmen of the Presbyterian Church in the United States, under the leadership of the group's secretary the Rev. Richard Allen, began planning for the establishment of a black girls' school in Texas. After a statewide survey, they chose Crockett as the school site because of the area's large black population and because of a local black parochial school operated by the Rev. Samuel Fisher Tenny, pastor of the city's First Presbyterian Church. The Rev. Allen's wife Mary, for whom the school was named, was instrumental in raising the organizational funds for the new seminary. Dr. Byrd R. Smith became the school's first black president in 1924 and initiated a period of growth which included the adoption of new programs and the admission of male students. Transferred to the Missionary General Baptist Convention of Texas in 1944, Mary Allen College became a 4-year liberal arts institution. In 1972, plagued by a series of legal and financial setbacks, the school closed. Once the site of a 12-building campus; student records were eventually transferred to Barber-Scotia College; the school reopened in 1944 under control of Missionary Baptist Convention of Texas and closed in 1972    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/MM/kbm8.html
http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us/
Lane, J.J. History of Education in Texas. 1903.
Mary Conner College    Paris    Texas    
    
    http://gen.1starnet.com/news/200002nl.txt
Mary Immaculate College    Corpus Christi    Texas    1957    1965    Sisters of the Incarnate Word and Blessed Sacrement    organized as Mary Immaculate Teacher Training Institute with primary purpose to educate Sisters; soon after lay students were admitted with name changed to Mary Immaculate College in 1961; renamed Christopher College of Corpus Christi in 1965    Schier and Russett.  Catholic Women's Colleges in America.  2002.
www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/CC/kbc20.html
Mary Nash Colllege    Sherman    Texas    1877    1901    Baptist    founded as Sherman Female Institute; after closure campus sold to Kidd-Key College    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/MM/kbm10.html
Maryhill College for Women    Austin    Texas    1966    1971    Sisters of the Immaculate Heart    became a part of St. Edwards University    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/CC/iwc1.html
Brenner, Morgan G.  The Encyclopedia of College & University Name Histories. 2003.
McKenzie College    Clarksville    Texas    1839    1861    Methodist    founded as McKenzie Institute; predecessor to Southwestern University; three miles southwest of Clarksville; organized by John W. P. McKenzie in a log cabin; the original enrollment was sixteen, and growth was slow and until 1846 the school offered high school work only; in 1848 the institution was chartered as McKenzie Institute, and progress was accelerated. By 1854 it had 300 students and nine faculty members. The college had an administration building and three dormitories, two for boys and one for girls. Its equipment was considered first-class, and the library probably had between 2,000 and 3,000 volumes; about half of the students came from the Red River area, 40 percent came from other sections of Texas, and 10 percent from Louisiana and Arkansas; tuition, board, room, and laundry cost $180 for ten months. Private piano lessons were $60 a term. Sometimes the tuition was paid with produce or with the horse and saddle the student had used to reach the school. The school had compulsory prayers at 4 A.M. and compulsory chapel attendance; it afforded varied social contacts and stimulation from the personality of McKenzie, and students were said to return home reluctantly at the end of the ten-month session. Both B.A. and M.A. degrees were granted in 1860. McKenzie College, for several years the largest college in Texas, was always a Methodist institution, although it was actually controlled by the Methodist conference for one year only. It trained almost all of the Texas Methodist ministers of the period. McKenzie deeded the school to the church in 1855 but on conditions that the conference could not fulfill. Again in 1860 he made a conditional deed of the property to the conference. By the summer of 1861 most of the student body had gone into the Confederate Army, and the church returned the property to McKenzie. The school adapted itself to the times by offering military drill to students. In 1863 enrollment dropped to thirty-three, and the average enrollment from 1864 to 1867 was seventy-four. McKenzie and his son-in-law, Smith Ragsdale, no longer able to keep the school independent financially, closed it on June 25, 1868    www.southwestern.edu/about/history.html
Blandin.  History of Higher Education of Women in the South.  1909.
http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/MM/kbm15.html
McMullen College    Tilden    Texas    1881    1897         opened under the direction of John Van Epps Covey. Although not officially sponsored by the Baptists, it was endorsed by that denomination, and a majority of the board of trustees were Baptists. The property was deeded to the town to be used as a public school.     http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/MM/kbm16.html
Meridian College    Meridian    Texas    1909    1927    Methodist Episcopal Church    originated as Meridian Training School under the leadership of George F. Campbell; he served as the school's president until July 1909. In September of that year the school opened its session as an affiliate of the Gatesville District Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South; it offered classes beginning with kindergarten, but gradually it dropped the first six grades and added two years of college courses; several different districts controlled the institution; on November 15, 1920, the property was transferred to the Central Texas Conference of the church. At that time Meridian achieved Class A Junior College status, and its name was changed to Meridian Junior College. In addition to the main administration building, which was completed in 1909, the college had a dining hall, two dormitories, and a former public school building; three successive fires put the college in financial straits, and it closed its doors on May 30, 1927. The Meridian public schools subsequently acquired the property and used the old main building until it burned in 1967    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/MM/kbm20.html
Metropolitan Business College    Dallas    Texas    1887         proprietary    founded by R.H. Hill and J.H. Gillespie; sold in 1899 to Alphonso and Susie Ragland and Willis W. Darby; Ragland retired as president in 1947 and the institution was sold to Mr. and Mrs. Tracy H. Rutherford who owned Rutherford School of Business; after acquisition of Tyler Commercial College and it's move to Dallas, Metropolitan became part of the Metropolitan Technical Institute; the school went out of business sometime after 1965    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/MM/kbm21.html
Midland College    Midland    Texas    1909    1921    Disciples of Christ    In the spring of 1908 the trustees of Texas Christian University met to discuss the need for a junior college in West or Southwest Texas. They selected Midland as one possible site. Midland citizens met to select trustees and plan the proposed college, filing a charter on January 19, 1909. TCU was reluctant to accept direct financial responsibility and offered only their cooperation and affiliation with the Disciples of Christ. A 225-acre site was donated and the sale of 300 parcels of this land established a financial base for the college. In May 1910 a three-story brick building, with stone trimmings and ornate Corinthian columns at the front and side entrances, was completed on a site 1½ miles west of the County Courthouse. All facilities for the college were in the one building. Men's housing was later moved to a building constructed for that purpose on the north side of the campus. The institution was coeducational and offered junior college courses as well as religious training. There were 107 students enrolled when the first semester began in September 1910. The initial president was Robert L. Marquis. Later presidents were Henry R. Garrett, Franklin G. Jones, and John T. McKissick. After closing permission was given by its trustees to move the college to Cisco, where it became Cisco Christian College in 1922 and, later, Randolph Junior College. The building in Midland served as office space but is no longer standing.  The former site is in Ulmer Park.    Cummins, D. Duane.  The Disciples Colleges: A History.  1987.
http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/MM/kbm23.html
Midlothian College    Midlothian    Texas    1884    1903         William Wesley Works was the founder and the initial name was Polytechnic Institute. The  institute was in the northern portion of town at the site of present Kimmel Park. The institute offered elementary and high school work and the study of fine arts, particularly music. Works remained president until his death in 1895. Around 1898 the Polytechnic Institute was renamed Whitten's Institute, after a new president. In 1900, after Whitten left, the name became Midlothian College. The physical plant burned in 1893 and was replaced by a larger structure on the same site. Because of financial problems the college struggled until it was consolidated with the Midlothian public schools in 1903, at which time the building became known as Midlothian Primary School. In 1908 the building was dismantled.    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/MM/kcm7.html
Mineral Wells College    Mineral Wells    Texas    1891    1900         Established by John W. McCracken, who had been president of Bennett College at Springtown. There were two frame buildings and a smaller rock building near the site of later Mineral Wells High School. The institution was apparently a standard four-year school. It was coeducational and had both boarding and day students. After closing the buildings were given to the public school system.    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/MM/kbm28.html
Mitchell College    Huntsville    Texas    1877         Methodist    In 1877, when Austin College was moved to Sherman, the Methodist Church bought its building for the use of Mitchell College.  The property was subsequently offered to the state and became the site of Sam Houston Normal.    http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook/online/articles/HH/heh3.html
Montgomery College    Conroe    Texas    1995         public    name change to Lone Star College-Montgomery in 2008; one of five colleges that comprised the North Harris Montgomery Community College District and now operate as the Lone Star College System    http://montgomery.lonestar.edu/
Mound Prairie Institute    Palestine    Texas    1856    
    
    power to confer degrees    Blandin.  The History of Higher Education of Women in the South.  1909.
Mount Enterprise Male and Female College    Rusk County    Texas    1851    1855    Church of Christ         www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/CC/idc5.html
Cummins, D. Duane.  The Disciples Colleges: A History.  1987.
Nacogdoches University    Nacogdoches    Texas    1840's    1904    
    property later acquired by school district    http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us/
National Colored Christian College    Dallas    Texas    1888         Disciples of Christ    plan for development was aborted    Cummins, D. Duane.  The Disciples Colleges: A History.  1987.
Nazareth University    Dallas    Texas    1886    1890    Church of Christ    
    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook
North Harris County College    Houston    Texas    1973         public    name change to Lone Star College-North Harris in 2008; one of five colleges that comprised the North Harris Montgomery Community College District and now operate as the Lone Star College System    http://northharris.lonestar.edu/18854/
North Texas Baptist College    Denison    Texas    1921    1926    Baptist    a college for African Americans; sponsored by the Northwestern Baptist Association and was housed in a three-story brick structure at Armstrong and Johnson streets; offered grammar and high school classes, as well as college level; ministerial students received the bachelor of theology degree; B. J. Brown, the first president (1921-1924); college building has long since been razed    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/NN/ibnla.html
North Texas Baptist College    Jacksboro    Texas    1891    1897    Baptist    
    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/NN/kbn3.html
North Texas Baptist College    Fort Worth    Texas                        http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/uhri/certauthhist.cfm
Northeast Texas Christian Theological and Industrial College    Palestine    Texas    1912    1920    Disciples of Christ    Led by the Rev. A. J. Hurdle, the Northeast Texas Christian Missionary Convention of the Christian Church (Disciples of Christ) was formed in Daingerfield in 1900. Established to serve black members of the denomination, its primary purpose was the creation of a college. The Christian College Building Association was formed by a group of women within the organization, and by 1904 enough funds had been raised to purchase 49 acres of land near Palestine, Texas. Contractor J. L. Randolph was hired in 1910, and on May 26, 1911, the cornerstone was laid for the main college structure. Opening with seven students in January 1912, the Northeast Texas Christian Theological and Industrial College consisted of several large frame buildings and had a faculty of four. D. T. Cleaver served as the first president and was succeeded by I. Q. Hurdle. In addition to their classroom studies, the students farmed the college lands and raised livestock. After the main college building was destroyed by fire about 1920, the school closed. The remaining buildings were later razed, leaving no visible reminders of the institution that once provided an education to students from several states.    http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us/
North Texas Female College    Sherman    Texas                   see entry for Kidd-Key College    Lane, J.J. History of Education in Texas. 1903.
Oak Grove College    
    Texas    
    
    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/LL/kbl11.html
Our Lady of Perpetual Help Junior College    Houston    Texas              Sisters of the Incarnate Word and Blessed Sacrement    founded for the education of Sisters, probably never enrolled lay students    Schier and Russett.  Catholic Women's Colleges in America.  2002.
Our Lady of Victory College    Fort Worth    Texas    1910    1958    Sisters of St. Mary of Namur    predecesor to University of Dallas    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/OO/kbo3.html
Paine Institute    Coliad    Texas    1854    1880    Methodist    authorized to grant degrees; absorbed into public school system    Blandin.  The History of Higher Education of Women in the South.  1909.
Palestine Female College    Palestine    Texas    1858    1881         Built on land donated by Reuben A. Reeves and Paul J. and Mary Simons. The trustees included F. S. Jackson and John Murchison. Early teachers were W. M. Bishop and his three daughters, Agnes, Cynthia, and Sally. In 1873 the Palestine Education Association was formed and A. H. Bailey from Alabama served as principal of the school, which offered literary, music, art, and telegraphic courses to both male and female students. On July 29, 1876, a new charter was obtained, and the name was changed to Palestine Female College. In 1881 the property was transferred to the public schools.     http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/PP/kbp16.html
Paluxy College    Glenrose    Texas    1877    1881         Opened by R. H. Whitehead and within a year the plant, included two acres of land and a two-story frame building that accommodated 150 students.  It was purchased by the Paluxy Baptist Association and in 1879, W. M. Dow opened the school. L. W. Coleman became president in 1880.      http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/PP/kbp2.html
Panhandle Christian College    Hereford    Texas    1904    1909    Disciples of Christ    see entry for Hereford Christian College    http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Cummins, D. Duane.  The Disciples Colleges: A History.  1987.
Paris Female College    Paris    Texas    1894              The building was purchased by the city in 1900 and became First Ward School.    http://www.parisisd.net/crockett/history/pre%20cms/first_ward_school.htm
Parker College of Chiropractic    Irving    Texas    1982    
    
    moved to Dallas, TX in 1989; name change to Parker University in 2011    www.parkercc.edu
Parsons College    Veal 's Station    Texas    1892    
    Presbyterian    founded as Texas Masonic Institute; later run by Methodists; became a Presbyterian school as Parsons College    www.cumberland.org/hfcpc/schools/Evans.htm
www.rootsweb.com/~txparker/edu/
Patroon College    Cisco    Texas    1893    1897    Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)    
    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/CC/idc5.html
Cummins, D. Duane.  The Disciples Colleges: A History.  1987.
Polytechnic College    Fort Worth    Texas    1890    
    Methodist Episcopal Church, South    name changed to Texas Women's College in 1914; became co-educational in 1935 with name change to Texas Wesleyan University    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/TT/kbt24.html
Lane, J.J. History of Education in Texas. 1903.
Port Arthur College    Port Arthur    Texas    1909         public    joined Lamar University in 1975    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/LL/kcl4.html
Port Sullivan College    Port Sullivan    Texas    1860    1870's    Methodist    I.B. Allen president in 1863; may have operated as an academy in mid-to-late 1870's with fire destroying the building in 1878    www.rootsweb.com/~txrober2/PortSullivanIV.htm
Randolph College    Lancaster    Texas    1899    1902    Christian Church (Disciples of Christ)    Cummins also gives dates of 1922-1937    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/CC/idc5.html
Cummins, D. Duane.  The Disciples Colleges: A History.  1987.
Reynolds Presbyterian College    Albany    Texas    1898    1914    Presbyterian    chartered originally as an academy, the school was named in honor of Barber Watkins Reynolds.  Classes were initially held in the church and a vacant store building. Soon after, a two-story, turreted structure of pressed brick with white stone trim built on a hill just west of town, was built. O. E. Arbuckle served as the first principal and was succeeded by C. R. Melcher, John Andrew Carnagay, H. H. Britan, and Paul Baker. In 1909 it was taken over by the Abilene Presbytery and raised to college rank. Rev. Levan Gray was installed as president. By September 1910 a two-story dormitory had been added. Beginning in 1913, the dormitory became Reynolds Presbyterian Home, an orphanage and the main building later became part of the orphanage. The buildings were razed in 1927.     http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/RR/kbr3.html
Round Rock College    Round Rock    Texas    1882    
    
    www.cumberland.org/hfcpc/schools/Evans.htm
Rusk Junior College    Rusk    Texas    1895    1928    Baptist    founded as East Texas Baptist Institute; became Rusk Academy in 1899 and Rusk Junior College in 1918    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/EE/kbe2.html
Rutersville College    Rutersville    Texas    1840    1856    Methodist    named in honor of Dr. Martin Ruter, pioneer Methodist missionary to Texas; chartered by the fourth Congress of the Republic of Texas as the Republic's first Protestant college; Rev. Chauncey Richardson was first president;considered by Southwestern University as predecessor;     www.southwestern.edu/about/history.html
Blandin.  History of Higher Education of Women in the South.  1909.
Sabinal Christian College    Sabinal    Texas    1907    1917    Church of Christ         www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook
www.gbchurch.churchquest.com/christiancollege/index.htm
Cummins, D. Duane.  The Disciples Colleges: A History.  1987.
Sabine Baptist College    Milam    Texas    1858    1870    
    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/SS/kbs2.html
Sabine Valley University    Hempfill    Texas    1876    1881    Baptist    founded by the Mount Zion Baptist Association; in 1880 the Bethlehem Baptist Association added its support and appointed some of the trustees; and the school was closed in the following year.     http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/SS/kbs3.html
Sacred Heart Dominican College    Houston    Texas    1945    1975    
    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/DD/kbd10.html
Saint Louis College    San Antonio    Texas    1852         Society of Mary    founded as St. Mary's Institute, became Saint Louis College in 1894, Saint Mary's University in 1927    Songe, Alice H.  American Universities and Colleges: A Dictionary of Name Changes.  1978.
Saint Mary's College    Dallas    Texas    1886    1930    Protestant Episcopal    founded by Rev. Alexander C. Garrett with Maria K. Torbert appointed to lead the institution; Claudia Taylor, who later married Lyndon B. Johnson was a student;    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/SS/kb546.html
Hunt and Carper, eds.  Religious Higher Education in the United States.  1996.
Lane, J.J. History of Education in Texas. 1903.
Saint Mary's University    Galveston    Texas    1852    1922    Catholic    first Catholic seminary and college in Texas; initially directed by Oblates of Mary Immaculate; in 1857 took over for one year; over the next twenty-five years administered successively by Christian Brothers, Congregation of the Holy Cross, and Sisters of Divine Providence; shelled by Union forces in 1863; seminary ended by 1870; under Jesuit leadership from 1874 until closed; completely destroyed by Galveston hurricane of 1900;    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/SS/kb546.html
Saint Paul's College    Anderson    Texas    1852    1856    Protestant Episcopal Church    a diocesan school  designed primarily to provide general education and ministerial training for young men, opened on a twenty-five-acre tract previously occupied by the Masonic Collegiate Institute and donated to the school, along with the two buildings on it, by the local Masonic lodge. Rev. Charles Gillette, principal, financial agent, and driving force behind the establishment of the institution, not only enlarged the campus and expanded its dormitory and educational facilities within two years but also undertook on his own initiative and without church sponsorship the operation of a girls' school at the request of the Anderson Masonic lodge. Assisted by Joseph Wood Dunn and Hannibal Pratt, he offered to the initial student body of forty-three boys instruction in English, geography, history, classical languages, and the sciences. The girls' school was conducted at the outset by Gillette's sister, Jeanette, and its curriculum included many of the same subjects taught in the boys' division, as well as French, piano, drawing, painting, and needlework. The duties of principal in the girls' division were assumed by Rev. Jonah B. T. Smith in 1854. The school was authorized by state legislative charter on February 4, 1853, to confer degrees, but only three pupils attained collegiate rank, and no degrees were ever awarded. As part of the settlement of the school's affairs, its grounds and buildings were reconveyed to the Masonic lodge. From 1861 to 1902 these same facilities housed a girls' school known as Patrick Academy.     http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/SS/kbs49.html
Saint Phillip's College    San Antonio    Texas    1898    1942    Episcopal    became a municipal junior college    Hunt and Carper, eds.  Religious Higher Education in the United States. 1996.
Salado College    Salado    Texas    1860    1918    
    Dr. Samuel J. Jones (1857-1918) and his wife, Charlotte Hallaran Jones (d. 1904), established Thomas Arnold High School on this site in 1890. The school, which was actually a private academy, occupied the stone buildings vacated by Salado College, where Dr. Jones taught. Named for Thomas Arnold (1795-1842), noted headmaster of Rugby School in England, the academy provided quality education during a time when there were few public high schools. After it closed in 1913, the facilities were again operated as Salado College until 1918, and as a public school until 1924, when the buildings burned.    http://www.lnstar.com/mall/txtrails/salado.htm
http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Lane, J.J. History of Education in Texas. 1903.
Turnbo, Charles.  Salado Texas: Frontier College Town
Samuel Huston College    Austin    Texas    1910         Methodist Episcopal Church    approved by the state as a senior college in 1926; accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Universities in 1934; Mar Elizabeth Branch, president from 1930-44 was the second African-American woman to serve as a college president in the country; the institution offered Jackie Robinson his first job as a basketball coach in 1945; agreed to merge with Tillotson College in 1952 to form Huston-Tillotson College; now, Huston-Tillotson University    http://www.htc.edu/abouthtc/history.asp
San Antonio Female College    San Antonio    Texas    1860    
    Methodist Episcopal Church, South    Dr. J. E. Harrison, with the aid of his wife and her sister, Miss Sara Walton, opened the college. Twelve students were in attendance. In 1890 the West End Town Company granted a tract of land to be used for a woman's college, and the West Texas Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, which was sponsoring the school, accepted the offer. The charter for the school was granted in 1898. The curriculum emphasized literature, and the school also offered devotional exercises and Bible study. In 1912-13 the catalog announced that the "college has the authority to confer Bachelor of Arts degrees," but in 1914 the school conferred only bachelor of literature, "mistress of literature," and bachelor of music degrees and diplomas in art, expression, physical training, Sunday school and Bible, violin, voice, and business training. In 1916 the college was recognized by the University of Texas as a junior college. The name was changed to Westmoorland College in 1918 and to the University of San Antonio in 1937. In 1942 the institution passed out of Methodist control and merged with Trinity University.    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/SS/kbs8.html
Lane, J.J. History of Education in Texas. 1903.
San Antonio Friends College    San Antonio    Texas                        http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/uhri/certauthhist.cfm
San Augustine University    San Augustine    Texas    
    1847    Presbyterian    
    www.southwestern.edu/about/history.html
San Saba Masonic College    San Saba    Texas                        http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/print/SS/kbs13.html
Savoy Male and Female College    Savoy    Texas    1876    1890         established through the efforts of R. R. Halsell, president, Lewis Holland, vice president, and trustees James L. German, Thomas J. Chenoweth, and James Paxton. The school provided educational opportunities regardless of ability to pay tuition for young men and women in the area and Indian students from reservations in Oklahoma. It also offered primary and preparatory classes for county school children. By the mid-1880s the college granted A.B. and B.S. degrees.  In 1887-88 the college enrollment was forty men and twenty-five women, the primary department had 102 children, the preparatory department registered 133, and the institution enrolled forty-four Indian students, one at the college level. Iit failed to recover from a fire that destroyed the college plant. A Savoy College Ex-Students Association was organized in 1937 with 128 members and met until 1962.    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/SS/kbs15.html
Seth Ward College    Plainview    Texas    1910    1929    Methodist    established after the Plainview District of the Methodist Church bought Central Plains College from the Holiness Church for $32,000. The school was renamed in honor of the first Texas bishop of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, and was reorganized as a two-year coeducational college designed to prepare students to enter Southwestern University in Georgetown, Texas. Enrollment averaged more than 200 from 1913 through 1915. The men's dormitory was gutted by fire in the spring of 1914. Construction on a new building was begun, but before it was completed, a second fire, on March 16, 1916, destroyed both the administration building and the women's dormitory. The Northwest Texas Conference closed the school and in 1929 transferred its surviving funds to the board of education, which loaned the money free of interest to McMurry College in Abilene. Seth Ward reunions were held from 1932 through 1975.     http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/SS/kbs20.html
Seven Points College    Westminster      Texas    1888              J. M. Harder opened the college and five years later sold the property to I. P. Rosser, who in 1895 sold it to the Collin County Methodist Church; the name was then changed to Westminster College and the school was chartered as a four-year college; trained young people for the ministry; in 1902 the college moved to Tehuacana; the Collin County Baptist Association bought the Westminster property and used it as a preparatory school for Baylor University and it was renamed Westminster Institute and later, Westminster Baptist Academy; the school was closed in 1916; see entry for Westminster College    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/SS/kbs21.html
Simmons College    Abilene    Texas    1891         Baptist    founded as Abilene Baptist College, now Hardin-Simmons University    Lane, J.J. History of Education in Texas. 1903.
http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/HH/kbh2.html
Soule University    South Chappel Hill    Texas    1856    1887    Methodist      considered as predecessor to Southwestern University    www.southwester.edu/about/history.html
South Park Junior College    Beaumont    Texas    1923              opened by South Park Independent School District; in 1949 became Lamar State College of Technology in 1951, later Lamar University after 1971    www.lamar.edu/admin/history/
Brenner, Morgan G.  The Encyclopedia of College & University Name Histories.  2003.
South Texas Baptist College    Waller    Texas    1898    1900    Baptist    An ambitious institution chartered by Baptists who formed South Texas Educational Conference about 1895 and in 1898 secured campus site from a local landowner, C.C. Waller. Trustees serving when college opened in fall of 1898 were J.C. McGaughy, Hempsted; James F. Duncan, Houston; C.W. Matthews, Montgomery; W.J. Durham, Richmond; S.A. McCall, Willis; J.E. Boulet, E.J. Matthews, J.L. Miles, and J.T. Sanders of Waller. W.E. Clark, A.M. Georgetown College of Kentucky, was president; Matilda Shannon (Mrs. W.E.) Clark, the college matron; misses Annie Black and Bellie James, Teachers; Thomas Shannon, secretary. The first session opened with three students, closed with 33; Second opened with 15, closed with 102. Courses of study covered primary through college subjects; Tuition ranged form $10 to $20 a term. The third session opened on Monday, Sept. 3, 1900. On the night of Sept. 8-9, the great 1900 storm blew in from Galveston. It severely damaged the college building, wrecked several churches, and demolished the public school. Although no lives were lost in this town, damage throughout the section was so great that the college never reopened. Its campus has served since 1916 as a public school site.    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/SS/kbs26.html
http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
South Texas College of Law    Houston    Texas                   see entry below for South Texas Junior College    
South Texas Junior College    Houston    Texas    1923    1974         night classes in law offered as early as 1915; founded as part of the South Texas School of Law and Commerce; operated as a coeducational branch of the Young Men's Christian Association of Houston and Harris County as a two-year liberal arts school. It was not supported by taxes. Law school name change to South Texas College of Law in 1945. Classes met in the central YMCA building on Louisiana Street before moving to the M&M Building on Main Street in 1967 when it became independed of the YMCA. Enrollment increased from 144 in 1949 to 2,737 in 1973. The faculty numbered about 120 in 1973. The junior college was fully accredited and conducted evening classes and two six-week summer sessions. In 1969 the library contained 51,071 bound volumes. Dormitory and athletic facilities were initially contained in the YMCA and YWCA buildings. Purchased by the University of Houston for it's downtown campus in the fall of 1974.      http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/SS/kbs28.html
http://stcl.edu/library/FN15-2Jones.html
South Texas State Teachers College    Kingsville    Texas    1925         state supported    name change to Texas College of Arts & Industries in 1929; to Texas A&I University in 1967; to Texas A&M-Kingsville in 1993    Brenner, Morgan G.  The Encyclopedia of College & University Name Histories.  2003.
Southeast Texas Male and Female College    Jasper    Texas    1878    1910         successor to Jasper Collegiate Institute that opened in 1851; college property was deeded to the public schools of Jasper    http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Southern Bible College    Houston    Texas    1958    1984    Pentecostal Church of God, International    reorganized and moved to Joplin, MO as Messenger College     www.thecb.state.tx.us/uhri/certauthhist.com
 www.messengercollege.edu
Southland University    Denton    Texas    1904    1909    Church of Christ    referred to as Southwestern Christian College by Cummins    Young, M. Norvel.  A History of Colleges Established and Controlled by Members of the Churches of Christ.  1949.
Cummins, D. Duane.  The Disciples Colleges: A History.  1987.
www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook
Southwest Texas State University    San Marcos    Texas    1903    
    state supported    founded as Texas State Normal School; names changed over the years to normal college, teachers college and in 2003 became Texas State University at San Marcos    http://www.txstate.edu/
Southwestern Union College    Keene    Texas    1893              founded as Keene Independent Academy; name change to Southwestern Junior College in 1916; to Southwestern Union College in 1963; to Southwestern Adventist College in 1976; Southwestern Adventist University since 1989    www.swau.edu/campusinfo/history/
Brenner, Morgan G.  The Encyclopedia of College & University Name Histories.  2003.
Stamford College    Stamford    Texas    1907    1918    Methodist    opened as Stamford Collegiate Institute with 236 students and thirteen teachers by the Northwest Texas Methodist Conference at the request of the Abilene and Colorado districts and with the donation of $67,000 and a twenty-acre campus by the town of Stamford. The college had fifteen teachers and a student body numbering approximately 275 during its second year of operation; by 1909 it enrolled more than 300 and had a physical plant valued at $130,000. Its name was changed to Stamford College in 1910. The college incurred a debt of $40,000 between 1910 and 1912, but was supported by the Conference with a donation of more than $6,000 in 1913 and continued financial support of a more limited nature thereafter. The school apparently averaged about 200 to 300 students until 1917, when drought and World War I caused the enrollment to drop to about 100. The college closed after the administration building burned. Its debts were liquidated, and the remaining funds were transferred to Clarendon College. The property of the college was later sold to the Stamford County Line Independent School District. James Winfred Hunt served as president of Stamford College and subsequently founded McMurry College in Abilene in 1923. The alumni of Stamford College were accepted by McMurry College in a resolution dated April 5, 1949; at commencement the graduates of Stamford College received certificates that recognized them as ex-students of McMurry College.     http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/SS/kbs52.html
Stephenville College    Stephenville    Texas    1893    1898    
    later John Tarleton Agricultural College    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/TT/fta10.html
Brenner, Morgan G.  The Encyclopedia of College & University Name Histories.  2003.
Synodical College    Gainesville    Texas    1890    1894         classes initially held in opera house and were then moved in 1890 to former home of J.H. Belcher; Texas Synod of Presbyterian Church agreed to assume control in 1893; in 1894 Thomas F. Hughes purchased the building and moved his Select School for Young Woment to the site before it also closed within two or three years    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/SS/kbs58.html
Terrell Bible College    Terrell    Texas    1929    1930    Church of Christ    
    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook
Texas A&M University at Laredo    Laredo    Texas    1970         state supported    name change to Laredo State University in 1977; to Texas A&M International University in 1993    Brenner, Morgan G.  The Encyclopedia of College & University Name Histories.  2003.
Texas Baptist College    Tyler    Texas    1860    1863    Baptist    opened as the Masonic Male Academy, housed in a large brick building northwest of Oakwood (then Tyler) Cemetery; established after the male department of Tyler University was destroyed by fire in 1857. St. John's Lodge No. 53 sponsored the school, and Capt. T. R. McConnell, a graduate of West Point, provided the military training; offered five grades of study at a fee of ten to twenty-five dollars a semester. Civil engineering and French classes cost students an additional ten dollars, and another dollar was charged for incidental expenses. Other income included $100 from public funds. In August 1860 the lodge sold the academy to the East Texas Baptist Convention. It was rechartered as Texas Baptist College and opened in February 1861. The new charter specified that a board of twenty-three trustees elected by the Baptist General Convention would govern the college. The staff offered two sessions of five months each. Primary classes cost students twenty dollars, preparatory courses forty dollars, and collegiate training fifty dollars. The matriculation fee was five dollars, and an additional dollar covered incidental expenses. Students could board with local families for ten dollars a month. William B. Featherston, served as president, closed
during the Civil War    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/TT/kbt3.html
Texas Baptist University    Dallas    Texas    1905    1912    Baptist    founded by the Baptist Missionary Association of Texas with acquisition of the Patton Seminary; Dr. J. R. Pentuff as president and A. S. Laird, former president of Patton Seminary, as professor of mathematics; offered a bachelor's degree and operated a school to prepare students for the regular four-year course. It had a conservatory of music and departments of divinity, art, elocution, and business. By April 1908 the faculty numbered fourteen.     http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/TT/kbt5.html
Texas Bible College    San Antonio    Texas         1993         began as Texas Bible Institute; name changed to Texas Bible College in 1987; lost state certification, reverted to Texas Bible Institute and ultimately closed    http://www.thecb.state.tx.us/uhri/certauthhist.cfm
Texas College    Tyler    Texas    1893         Christian Methodist Episcopal    became Phillips University in 1909; readopted name of Texas College in 1912    http://www.crl.edu/content.asp?l1=5&l2=22&l3=39&top=10
Songe, Alice H.  American Universities and Colleges: A Dictionary of Name Changes.  1978.
http://www.texascollege.edu/index.php
Texas College of Mines & Metallurgy    El Paso    Texas    1913         state supported    merged with El Paso Junior College in 1927; name change to Texas Western College in 1949; to University of Texas El Paso in 1967    Brenner, Morgan G.  The Encyclopedia of College & University Name Histories.  2003.
Texas College of Osteopathic Medicine    Fort Worth    Texas    1970              Placed under direction of North Texas State University in 1975. In 1993 the name was changed to University of North Texas Health Sciences Center at Fort Worth/College of Osteopathic Medicine    http://history.aoa-net.org/Education/collegehist.htm
Texas Female College    Weatherford    Texas    1890    1920    Cumberland Presbyterian    Presidents: J.L. Dickens (1890), W.B. Farr (1891), J.S. Howard for five years, and Emma Elizabeth McClure after 1897    www.cumberland.org/HFCPC/schools/Texas.htm
http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/TT/kbt11.html
Lane, J.J. History of Education in Texas. 1903.
Texas Holiness Universtiy    Peniel    Texas    1899    1920         name changed to Peniel University in 1912; became Nazarene in 1915 and changed name to Peniel College; merged with Oklahoma Nazarene College in 1920 with name changed to Bethany-Peniel College; then other colleges merged Bethany-Central Holiness College in 1929, Arkansas Holiness College in 1931, and Bresee College in 1940.  In 1955 became Bethany Nazarene College, and now Southern Nazarene University.  SNU considers the founding date of Texas Holiness (1899) as it's own.    www.snu.edu/
Brenner, Morgan G.  The Encyclopedia of College & University Name Histories.  2003.
Texas Masonic College    Larissa    Texas                        http://ftp.rootsweb.com/pub/usgenweb/la/claiborne/bios/cosgrove.txt
Texas Medical College    Galveston    Texas    1874    1880    
    Texas Medical College was chartered on February 8, 1860, to be located in or near Houston; as finally organized in 1864, it was the Galveston Medical College; reorganized in 1873 as the Texas Medical College and Hospital, the institution closed in 1890 with the establishment of the medical branch of the University of Texas    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/TT/kct24.html
Texas Military College    Terrell    Texas    1915    1949         operated on site of Wesley College; temporarily ceased operations from 1943-1946; physical plant sold in 1949 and Southwestern Christian College opened the following year    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/TT/kbf15.html
Texas Normal College    Denton    Texas    1890    
    state supported    became North Texas State Normal College in 1899, North Texas State Teachers College in 1923, North Texas State College in 1949, North Texas State University in 1961    Songe, Alice H.  American Universities and Colleges: A Dictionary of Name Changes.  1978.
Texas Presbyterian College for Girls    Milford    Texas    1902    1929    Presbyterian    merged with Austin College    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/TT/kbt21.html
Brenner, Morgan G.  The Encyclopedia of College & University Name Histories.  2003.
Texas State University for Negroes    Houston    Texas    1947    
    state supported    name changed to Texas Southern University in 1951    Songe, Alice H.  American Universities and Colleges: A Dictionary of Name Changes.  1978.
Texas University    Georgetown    Texas    1873         Methodist    established as Rutersville College in 1838, merged with Wesleyan College, McKenzie College, and Soule University in 1873; became Texas University after moving to present location; adopted name of Southwestern University in 1875     Songe, Alice H.  American Universities and Colleges: A Dictionary of Name Changes.  1978.
Texas Wesleyan College    Austin    Texas    1912    1935    Swedish Methodist    Rev. O. E. Olander was a leader in the effort to found the institution, initially on twenty-one acres in north Austin in an area called Wheelers Grove between 24th and 26th streets and Waller Creek and Red River Street. The area is now the site of the University of Texas Law School Building.  Opened with fourteen students. During the 1912-13 school year there were forty-seven students enrolled; thirty-two students enrolled during the 1914-15 term. In 1926 Rev. Frank A. Lundberg became president. The Olanders, in addition to running the school, operated the Sunnybrook Dairy in Austin, which provided work for Swedish boys seeking higher education. In 1928 a large tabernacle was built. Rev. Oscar Linstrum became president of the school in 1930. The 1930s saw a movement away from things ethnic and a movement to be more "American." Swedish churches in Austin began to offer services in English. Interest in ethnic colleges declined, and the University of Texas on the college's western side was eager to expand. On May 26, 1931, the college's board of trustees considered and accepted an offer from the University of Texas to purchase the school grounds for $135,000. The trustees also voted to continue operation of the school, and for several years the University of Texas granted the college free use of the grounds. In May 1935 the name of Texas Wesleyan College was changed to Texas Wesleyan Academy. In 1936 the academy agreed to loan $100,000 to Texas Wesleyan College at Fort Worth. In June of that year academic courses were discontinued, though a small music school operated for some years, and a scholarship and loan program for descendents of Swedes continued. In February 1939 Texas Wesleyan College at Fort Worth filed suit against Texas Wesleyan Academy, stating that the money from the sale of the school was church money and not private money. In June 1941 a court ruled against Texas Wesleyan Academy and ordered that the $100,000 loan to the Fort Worth school be cancelled and that $135,000 in assets be turned over to Texas Wesleyan College. Texas Wesleyan Academy appealed the decision but later reached a compromise. In 1957 the board of Texas Wesleyan Academy discontinued student loans; the music school closed in 1956. In 1961 the board of trustees officially changed the name of Texas Wesleyan Academy to Texas Wesleyan Foundation.    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/TT/kbt25.html
Texas Wesleyan College    Fort Worth    Texas    1881    1911    Methodist Episcopal Church    name changed to Fort Worth University in 1889; joined with Methodist Episcopal University of Oklahoma in 1911    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/FF/kbf6.html
Texas Western College    El Paso    Texas    1914         public    founded as Texas State School of Mines & Metallurgy; name changed to Texas Western College in 1949 and to the University of Texas at El Paso in 1967    www.utep.edu
Thorp College    Thorp Spring    Texas    1871    1873    Church of Christ    founded by Sam Milliken and Pleasant Thorp; gave way to Add-Ran Male and Female College; after Add-Ran moved to Waco in 1896, campus became Jarvis Institute and later Add-Ran Jarvis College; in 1910 sold to trustees of Thorp Spring Christian College     www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/TT/kbt26.html
Thorp Spring Christian College    Thorp Spring    Texas    1910    1928    Church of Christ    moved to Terrell, TX 1928 and name changed to Texas Christian College, closed in 1931    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/TT/kbt26.html
Cummins, D. Duane.  The Disciples Colleges: A History.  1987.
Tillotson College    Austin    Texas    1877    
    Congregational Church    initially chartered in 1877 as Tillotson Collegiate and Normal Institute; first classes in January 1881; it is claimed that Allen Hall was the first building in the state and the first west of the Mississippi built for higher education of Blacks; new charter issued in 1909 for Tillotson College; organized as a junior college in 1925, as a woman's college in 1926, and again as a co-educational senior college in 1931; accredited by Southern Association of Colleges and Schools in 1943; agreed to merge with Samuel Huston College in 1952 to form Huston-Tillotson College    http://www.htc.edu/abouthtc/history.asp
Lane, J.J. History of Education in Texas. 1903.
Tomball College    Tomball    Texas    1985         public    name change to Lone Star College-Tomball in 2008; one of five colleges that comprised the North Harris Montgomery Community College District and now operate as the Lone Star College System    http://tomball.lonestar.edu/2540/
Toon College    Terrell    Texas    1897    1904         renamed Terrell University School in 1902; offered to Methodist Episcopal Church in 1905; predecessor to Wesley College    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/WW/kbw8.html
Tri-State College    Texarkana    Texas    1900    1901         a coeducational school under control of the Enon, Red River, and Southwest Arkansas Baptist associations; used property that had previously belonged to a school known as South-west Ark College; Tri-State was first known as Inter-State College because it served both Texas and Arkansas and was renamed in an effort to attract students from Louisiana; failure to obtain sufficient funds caused the school to close at the end of its first year     http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/TT/kbt29.html
Trinity Lutheran College    Round Rock    Texas    1906    1929    Augustana Synod, Lutheran    Planned at the Kansas Conference of the Augustana Lutheran Synod in 1904, when representatives of the Austin District were organized into a temporary school board. Stamford and Round Rock competed for location of the school, and Round Rock was chosen after it offered fourteen lots, a cash bonus, and a well, and the International-Great Northern Railroad agreed to ship building materials at half price. On July 13, 1905, the building's cornerstone was laid. J. A. Stamline was elected president, and October 2, 1906, was set as opening day. The school opened with four faculty members and an initial enrollment of forty-eight students in the academy and eleven in the music department. The enrollment totaled ninety-six the first year, seventy-six the second, and eighty-four the third. J. Alfred Anderson became the second president in 1909 and was succeeded by Theodore Seashore in 1914. Despite a drop in enrollment during World War I, Seashore succeeded in making the school solvent and, in 1920, in securing its accrediting by the state department of education. By 1921, however, the enrollment had dropped to forty-six, and the regents doubted that they could continue to maintain the school. A movement to transfer the institution to Austin was voted down in 1923. Stamline and Oscar Nelson served as ad interim presidents until October 11, 1923, when H. A. Alden became president under a new organization of the Texas Lutheran Conference. Alden's efforts to expand the school into a junior college were approved by the conference in 1925 and by the state department in 1926, but by 1928 the enrollment had dropped to thirty, the school was in debt, and the building needed repair. Though grants from the Augustana Synod in 1928 helped temporarily, the enrollment was only forty-seven, and in 1929 the school was merged with Texas Lutheran College at Seguin    Solberg.  Lutheran Higher Education in North America.  1985.
http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/TT/kbt30.html
Tyler Commercial College    Tyler    Texas              proprietary     In the late 1890's, Whitesboro Teachers Normal College moved to Tyler and consolidated with Tyler College to create the Tyler Commercial College. Known as the "largest commercial and shorthand school in the South", the school boasted a petroleum geology department, a world-renowned cotton grading department, and a school for radio station operation; purchased by Tracy Rutherford and renamed Tyler Engineering College in 1957; moved to Dallas in 1960 as part of Metropolitan Technical Institute    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/MM/kbm21.html
Tyler Female College    Tyler    Texas    1883    1886    Presbyterian    established under the control of the Eastern Texas Presbytery    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/TT/kbt33.html
Tyler University    Tyler    Texas    1852    1857    Baptist    northwest of Oakwood (once Tyler) Cemetery; founded by the Cherokee Baptist Association with sponsorship was later transferred to the General Baptist Convention of Eastern Texas; when that organization collapsed, the governance of the school was again entrusted to the association, and on February 11, 1854, the association obtained a charter from the state. Both male and female students attended classes in a large brick edifice, in separate departments. The school had financial difficulties and frequent changes of faculty. The male department was destroyed by fire in 1857, then reopened as Masonic Male Academy; it later became Texas Baptist College    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/TT/kbt34.html
University of Central Texas    Georgetown    Texas    1873    1875    Methodist      charter granted by state in 1875 under name Southwestern University    http://www.southwestern.edu/about/history.html
University of Central Texas    Killeen    Texas    1973    1999         formerly American Technological University until 1989; agreed to discontinue offerings with establishment of Tarleton University System Center - Central Texas in Killeen    The Chronicle of Higher Education, June 14, 2002
www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/
University of Corpus Christi    Corpus Christi    Texas    1947              established as Arts and Technological College under auspices of the Southern Baptist Convention, became University of Corpus Christi in 1947, hen became upper division state university as part of Texas A & I Universityin 1973, now Texas A&M-Corpus Christi    www.tamucc.edu
Songe, Alice H.  American Universities and Colleges: A Dictionary of Name Changes.  1978.
University of Eastern Texas    San Augustine    Texas    1847    1850         In 1847 Oran M. Roberts succeeded in uniting two former colleges, the University of San Augustine and Wesleyan College, under an independent board to form the University of Eastern Texas. Religious control and denominational instruction were prohibited. The institution took over the buildings of the two previous institutions, which included two three-story structures. The school soon failed and was succeeded in 1851 by the Masonic Institute of San Augustine.    www.southwestern.edu/about/history.html
http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/UU/kcu2.html
University of Plano    Plano    Texas    1964    1976              www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/
Revel, Linda Foxworth. The Historical Development and Demise of the University of Plano.  Ph.D. dissertation. 1989.
University of San Antonio    San Antonio    Texas    
    Methodist    the Texas Conference of the Methodist Church and the board of trustees of the University of San Antonio transferred the property of the university without restriction to the trustees of Trinity University in 1942.  All credits and degrees given by the university and its predecessors, San Antonio Female College and Westmoreland College, were acknowledged by Trinity University.    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/
University of San Augustine    San Augustine    Texas    1837    1847    Presbyterian    united with Wesleyan Male and Female College to form University of Eastern Texas    http://libweb.sfasu.edu/etrc/COLLECT/MANSCRPT/CORPRATE/SanAugEdinstitute/saeimain.htm
Upshur Masonic College    Gilmer    Texas    1851    
    
    founded as Gilmer Masonic Female Institute; control shifted to Gilmer Methodist Church in 1852; in 1856 name changed to Gilmer Female College; financial difficulties led to sale in 1857; purchased by Gilmere Masons; name changed to Upshur Masonic College and then closed at some point after 1861 due to Civil War    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/UU/kbu6.html
W. H. Ford Male & Female College    Newton    Texas    1889    1906         Named for secretary of the Southwest College Company. President Joseph Syler and his wife were the teachers. High-school level. After the college closed, this heart pine building was for 2 years part of the Newton schools, then was moved to Courthouse Square. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark, 1965.     http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
Waco Female College    Waco    Texas    1857    1895    Methodist    properties purchased by Add-Ran Christian University, a forerunner of Texas Christian University    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/
Waco University    Waco    Texas    1856    1886    Baptist    founded as Trinity River High School by Trinity River Baptist Association.  Control was transferred to Waco Baptist Association in 1860.  Name changed to Waco University after 1861 when Rufus Burleson and faculty from Baylor University (then located in Independence) arrived.  Ownership transferred to Baptist General Association in 1881 and five years later consolidated with Baylor University.    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/WW/kbw4.html
Weatherford College    Parker County    Texas    
    
    still operating as the oldest junior college in the state; founded by the Phoenix Lodge of the Masonic Order in Weatherford, which in 1869 received a charter to establish a Masonic Institute; classes started several years later; in 1884 name was changed to Cleveland College in honor of Grover Cleveland; five years later the Central Texas Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South, moved Granbury College, which had originally opened in 1873 and had been under the conference's authority since 1880, to Weatherford and combined the two institutions as Weatherford College; David S. Switzer guided the institution through the next decade; average yearly enrollment was about 300, and the school offered classes from grade school through the senior year of college; Switzer left in 1902 to establish his own college, and from 1903 to 1921 the school operated intermittently; in 1921 the institution was reorganized as a junior college Fred G. Rand as president; Weatherford Junior College was accredited by the Texas Association of Colleges; in 1944 Southwestern University took over operation as a branch institution, with the understanding that if Southwestern should discontinue the relationship, the college's facilities would then be offered to the city of Weatherford or to Parker County; in 1949 Southwestern transferred the college to the county, and the school officially became Weatherford College of the Parker County Junior College District     www.rootsweb.com/~txparker/edu/
Brenner, Morgan G.  The Encyclopedia of College & University Name Histories.  2003.
http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/WW/kbw7.html
Wesley College    Greenville    Texas    1909    1938    Methodist Episcopal Church    Methodist Episcopal Church acquired Terrell University School in Terrell, TX in 1905; by 1909 named Wesley College, a high school and  junior college; closed in 1911 and reopened in Greenville, TX in 1912; closed in 1938     www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/WW/kbw8.html
McMullin, William Craig. A Descriptive History of Wesley College.  Ed.D. dissertation. 1987.
Wesleyan College    San Augustine    Texas    1844    1847    Methodist    combined with San Augustine University in 1847 to form private University of Eastern Texas    www.southwestern.edu/about/history.html
Blandin.  History of Higher Education of Women in the South.  1909.
http://libweb.sfasu.edu/etrc/COLLECT/MANSCRPT/CORPRATE/SanAugEdinstitute/saeimain.htm
West Texas Normal and Business College    Cherokee    Texas    1905    1909    Church of Christ    building used by Cherokee Junior College from 1911-1918    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/
West Texas State University    Canyon    Texas    1910    
    state supported    founded as West Texas State Normal College, joined the Texas A&M System in 1990 becoming West Texas A & M University    http://www.wtamu.edu/
Westminster College    Westminster / Graybill / Tehuacan    Texas    1895    1950    Methodist Protestant    seventeen miles northeast of McKinney; classes were first held in the frame building that once housed Seven Points College, begun by J. M. Harder in 1888; in 1893 Harder sold the building to I. P. Rosser who two years later sold the lot to the Methodist Protestant Church which renamed the school Westminster after Westminster, Maryland; subsequently the town changed its name to Westminster; served as a preparatory school for Methodist Protestant ministers; in 1902 outgrew the facilities in Westminster and the college moved to Tehuacana in northeastern Limestone County, where it continued as a junior college affiliated with Southwestern University until 1950; when the junior college closed that year, its property was sold to the Congregational Methodist Church, which opened another junior college there, the Westminster Junior College and Bible Institute    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/WW/kbw12.html
Brenner, Morgan G.  The Encyclopedia of College & University Name Histories.  2003.
Westminster Junior College and Bible Institute    Dallas / Tehuacana     Texas    1944    
    Congregational Methodist    The campus of Westminster College was unoccupied until 1953, when it was acquired by the Congregational Methodist Church which then relocated their Bible School from Dallas as Westminster Junior College and Bible Institute. The school's program was expanded to include the basic junior college curriculum. The campus comprised twelve buildings, including housing for faculty and students. In 1969 the library held 9,000 volumes. The institution offered an associate of arts degree. The Bible Institute, a department of the college, offered a four-year curriculum leading to the degree of bachelor of religion. In 1968-69 the college had fifteen faculty members and ninety-five students, but by 1970 the student body had decreased to sixty; Elmo McGuire was president. In 1971 thirty-five students and seven teachers of the Westminster Junior College and Bible Institute moved from Tehuacana to a forty-acre campus at Florence, Mississippi; the institution continues operation as Wesley College    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/view/WW/kbw13.html
http://www.wesleycollege.com/
Westmoreland College    San Antonio    Texas                   see entry for San Antonio Female College    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/
Wharton College    Austin    Texas    1858    1865    Episcopal    
    Hunt and Carper, eds.  Religious Higher Education in the United States. 1996.
Wichita Falls Junior College    Wichita Falls    Texas    1922         state supported    became Hardin Junior College in 1937; Hardin College in 1946, then Midwestern (State) University in 1950    Songe, Alice H.  American Universities and Colleges: A Dictionary of Name Changes.  1978.
William Carey Crane College    Independence    Texas    1885    1897         founded when Baylor University and Baylor Female College were moved to Waco; William W. Fontaine, assisted by Charles H. Wedemeyer and others, advertised the institution as a continuation of the two Baylor schools in the old Baylor plants. The school had ten pianos, 3,500 books in the library, and other equipment. Henry A. McArdle headed the art department. Fontaine was succeeded about 1889 by R. E. Binford, who secured a ten-year lease on the plants and changed the name to Binford University. The plant was sold in March 1889 for a debt of $2,000, and about 1897 all efforts to continue the institution were abandoned    http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/WW/kbw18.html
Willis Male and Female College    Willis    Texas    1881    1900         Rev. and Mrs. S. N. Barker, Methodists, who opened the college 1885; acquired by F. P. Crow and C. H. Stovall in 1890 and by Cyril M. Jansky and Marion Kline in 1894; Crow returned and operated the school until he sold it to the public schools in 1900 or 1901.     http://www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/articles/WW/kbw20.html
Woodcrest College    Dallas    Texas    1940    1985         founded as Dallas Bible Institute, later Dallas Bible College; in 1984 the college moved to Lindale in east Texas and changed the name to Woodcrest College    www.tsha.utexas.edu/handbook/online/
Woodland College    Kirvin    Texas    1863    1865         Enrollment more than 300 students. Colonel L. R. Wortham donated ten acres of land for use as a campus, church and cemetery. Charter trustees: Col. L. R. Wortham, Thomas Lamb, Dr. Rueben Anderson, Oliver Carter, John I. Winn, D. L. Carter, Noland Womack, T. L. Sessions, G. A. Sessions. Prof. Hellery Moseley was its only president. Mattie, Mary and Thomas Dixon were its teachers. The college became a grade school at the close of the Civil War.    http://atlas.thc.state.tx.us
     
    
    
    
last update:    4/4/2011    
    
    
    
simple hit counter

    
    
    
    



Please Wait... processing